Treat Yo Self !

treatyoself

Happy New Year’s Day my friends!

Today is a special day. It is a brand new year. The slate has been wiped clean. The past is now the past and you are moving forward into a new year of your life. How lucky are we to be able to have this privilege? To be able to wake up and start a new adventure. Instead of dragging along all of your old baggage from last year, let’s actively make a commitment to leave the past where it lies and commit to creating something brand new – something we can be proud of and passionate about. Who cares if last year sucked, or if you made a ton of mistakes, or if you did a lot of wrong. The good news is, you can start over. You can choose to start over. You can choose to do right. You can choose to become brand new. You don’t have to continue living in the same old, destructive patterns anymore. If you were constantly stressed out and rushing around last year, make this year about slowing down. If you are angry because you didn’t make healthy habits last year, then actively choose to take care of yourself better this year. The good news is you don’t have to settle!

So with that being said, let’s celebrate this new beginning for me and for you.

Today is a special day for myself as well because it is the start of the Self Love Challenge. Day one! And as intimidating as it sounds for me to have to commit to writing every single day for the next year, i’m up for the challenge. Why? Because it’s a good thing to stay inspired. It’s a good thing to want to better yourself. it’s a good thing to want to take time out of each day to do something for yourself because it creates more joy, more health, and more well being in your life. Imagine if I continued to push myself aside and only did what was pleasing to others for the next whole year. i would probably feel pretty run down and beat up and unhappy. No one deserves to live like that. I don’t want to. I’m done living a mediocre lifestyle. I want to be full of passion and joy and happiness. I want to feel healthy from the inside out! I want to feel whole! So onward, my friends (sorry Elizabeth Gilbert, I stole your catchphrase)!

The Self Love Daily Challenge #001: Treat Yo Self!

So Tom, from the hit TV show Parks and Rec, really had something when he decided to dedicate an entire day to treating himself. My inspiration for today’s challenge comes from him, so thank you Tom! Today is all about setting intentions for the rest of 2015. So what better way to set a positive intention for loving yourself than to create an entire day dedicated to treating yourself! Go ahead, indulge! You deserve it! After the hectic stress from the holidays, instead of running right back to the grind of responsibilities, take today to slow down and “treat yo self.” Whether it is taking a little extra time sipping your evening tea and reading a good book or getting a message or even taking the entire day pampering yourself, just do it!

No it’s not a waste of time. It’s showing yourself some love. It’s saying, “hey I am important and I deserve a day to do whatever I feel like!” So don’t feel guilty. Don’t rush through it and think about the list of to-do’s that you are now behind on. Just forget it, for one hour at least, and treat your self. I promise it will make you feel good. It will set that intention with yourself that you are also just as important, if not more, than all of the commitments and responsibilities that you have going in your life.

Today I totally indulged. I slept in until about 10am this morning and instead of rushing to get up and figure out what I could do that would be productive on my day off, I thought “hey, i want to enjoy today. I don’t want to run around and feel drained when I have to go back to work tomorrow.” So the boyfriend and I decided to go get some pancakes at Denny’s. We rarely go out to eat, so this was a very big treat for us! I even went over the top and ordered the peanut butter cup pancakes – yup, loads of gooey hot chocolate and peanut butter drizzle atop two giant pancakes with a side of bacon, eggs, and hash browns. Well to say the least, my eyes have a bigger appetite than I do, so I only was able to eat about a quarter of it before the sweet overload got to me, but it was still a fantastic breakfast and made me feel happy in my tummy.

Next we decided to hit the stores. I received a ton of gift cards over the holidays so what better way then to spend them on all of the New Year’s day sales. Now let me tell you one thing, when it comes to shopping for myself, well let’s just say it’s a bit difficult. When I was going through financial hardship last year, I started to form a sense of heavy guilt every time I would buy anything unnecessary for myself. I would beat myself up over just buying a donut or a candy bar because I felt like I didn’t deserve it. Over time this habit killed my self esteem and even when I recently started coming out of financial hardship, I found it hard to buy anything at all for myself. I would constantly second guess every purchase – should I have really bought that? Do I really deserve it? Am I being selfish because I got something for myself? You could imagine how devastating that could be for a person’s self esteem. It really does make you feel like crap, like you are undeserving of anything at all. And deep down, it all came down to being because I didn’t think I deserved my own love. I didn’t love myself enough, so therefore I did not deserve anything nice for myself.

So when we went shopping today, I decided to change my mindset. I chose to change my thoughts from “I don’t deserve anything” to “I am loved and I deserve good things.” And let me tell you, it really does make a difference when you begin to tell yourself these types of things rather than negative self talk. So instead of feeling guilty, I went into those stores and shopped my heart out! I didn’t feel bad that I was indulging. I felt like I was giving myself the love I deserve by treating myself to nice things. So in the end, the shopping trip was pretty successful and I left with a feeling of happiness rather than guilt, which is always the better option. And to add to the festivities, I even treated myself to a scrumptious chocolate marshmallow cupcake at the last minute on my way to the parking lot.

And i’m proud to say, not an ounce of guilt is in this body and mind! So don’t feel guilty my friends. You deserve good things. You deserve to treat yourself. You deserve to show yourself some love. It’s not selfish. It’s not being overindulgent- yes, maybe if you did this excessively day after day and went broke spending money on yourself, but treating yourself once in a while is not a bad thing. And it doesn’t always have to be something that costs money like shopping mall trips. 

Celebrate the day my friends and treat yo self!

xx

Christina Ciro

