Switch It up!

quote

Happy Tuesday folks! So I was thinking. Everybody hates Mondays right? Tuesday doesn’t really get a great rep either. Wednesday is a bit more likable because it’s hump day. Thursday is really great because we’re in the run for home. And Friday is the big winner of all the weekdays. Everybody LOVES Friday. We’re all a bit more cheery. The day seems to brisk by quickly because nothing bothers us as much as it would on any other day, so we let it all slide because it’s Friday and the weekend is right around the corner.

But what if we could keep that Friday attitude going all week? What if we could enjoy each of the days of the week just as much as we enjoy Fridays? What if, instead of dreading day after day of our work week, we could actually make it a bit more enjoyable?

I know. A bunch of you are shaking your heads right now. And I used to be totally right there with you. I used to dread coming into work day after day. Staring at the clock as the minutes past. Was it 5pm yet? And then when the clock eventually did strike 5pm, I would rush home as if it was a race and then eat whatever I could find in the fridge for dinner and spend the rest of the evening collapsed on my sofa binge watching Netflix. Not really the recipe of a fulfilling and happy life, right?

But what if instead of this sad routine, we started to enjoy our days more? Maybe add in a few bits and pieces to make the day more interesting, rather than rigid and dull. With that in mind, let’s move along with today’s daily challenge.

The Self Love Daily Challenge #006: Change up your routine!

Today (and everyday from now on) make it a habit to add some flavor to your daily routine. Trust me, it will make your day a bit more brighter and you will actually look forward to each and every day instead of just Fridays.

I’ve recognized that when we tend to do the same thing day after day, life starts to become too predictable and too boring. Once this happens, we start to become very unhappy individuals. They don’t say variety is the spice of life for nothing. It truly is. Doing the same thing day after day makes you feel stuck, as if you are in one big hamster wheel – getting through your tasks, instead of truly delighting in them.

So let’s make it a new habit to change it up a bit. Create some unpredictability in our lives. And I don’t mean in the sense of creating problems or drama, but just consciously becoming more aware of what we do every single day and making it a new habit to do something different. And it doesn’t have to be anything major it could simply be something like changing up your morning routine, for example. Maybe instead of eating oatmeal and drinking coffee everyday, you can try a new breakfast sandwich or chai tea latte instead. Or instead of going for a run, you can try a new dance class at the gym. Or perhaps it could be something else like taking a different route to work.

Maybe you don’t want to change something in your daily routine, but something in your weekly routine. For example, if you normally don’t go out at all during the week (like me), you can try planning an outing on a Wednesday (or any other day) rather than on “typical” nights like Friday or Saturday. I think this would actually help break up the work week a lot better, and give you something to look forward to, rather than dragging yourself through the week and then finally going out on the weekend.

I always wondered why people don’t change up their routines more often, but I guess routines wouldn’t be called routines if we continuously changed them. But I do feel like it is important to change up your routine, especially because if we don’t, we can easily get stuck into a life rut, which can lead to a lot of dissatisfaction in our daily lives. No one wants to live a life where they simply work and go home to do nothing meaningful day after day. We weren’t made as human beings have that kind of lifestyle. We were made to enjoy life and explore. Yes, we still have responsibilities and jobs to go to, but that doesn’t mean we have to revolve our entire lives around them.

Today I decided to have lunch outside on the grass, rather than inside the lunch room, like I normally do. I never realized how beautiful and refreshing it could be to simply eat your lunch on the grass. To feel the warmth of the sunlight on your back. To watch the wind make the grass dance and the leaves move. It’s meditative in a way. And after my lunch was over, I felt totally refreshed and ready to go back to work. Normally, sitting in the lunch room, in a drab gray and white room with other co-workers isn’t really all that refreshing. And usually I wind up sitting on my phone glued to facebook half the hour. I go back to my desk feeling as if I didn’t even really take a lunch BREAK at all, but rather just moved to a different area of the office. But today, I felt good. And I think it may become a new routine of mine. Also, I plan to make it a goal to get out of the house during the week sometime rather than only on the weekend. I think it will definitely help me to not feel so stuck in my routine, but rather give me something to look forward to during the week as well as on weekends.

So I encourage you to switch it up as well. I encourage you to go against the norm and do something that you normally wouldn’t do. Yeah, it may feel a bit funny at first, or you might get some weird reactions, but in the end I bet you will feel a lot more satisfied during your week and not just on Fridays.

xx

Christina Ciro

