Healthy Rituals.

So how many of you are still keeping your New Year’s resolutions? I know we’re already a little over two weeks into the New Year and people start to get lazy after the hype of the New Year starts to wear off. A lot of people say they are going to go to the gym every day or work out, but after a few weeks in they start to get tired of going or don’t see any results, so they quit just like most other resolutions we have for ourselves. We quit before we can even see any kind of progress. We’re too impatient. We want things to work right away. We want to see results after only a few tries. But it doesn’t work that way unfortunately, otherwise there would be no need to form healthy habits. We would simply just be able to do something for a short while, reap the benefits and move on. But the whole point of a healthy habit is so that we continue with it so that it benefits us not only in the short run, but in the long run as well.

I know most often we are intimidated by the word habit. We believe that if we mess up once or skip it for a few days, then there’s no point in continuing. But in reality that’s not the case. We can still create healthy habits even if we do skip a few days. Thanks to one of my favorite yogi’s, Adrienne, from Yoga With Adrienne, wrote about how instead of being intimidated by the idea of keeping up with a habit, we should instead strive to create a healthy ritual.

What’s the difference between a habit and a ritual? Well a ritual is more of a practice, something that you do because you WANT to do it. A habit, even though some may be healthy ones, can have a bit of a negative connotation that goes along with it, which can sometimes keep us from wanting to form good ones, let alone break bad ones. When we think of forming a healthy ritual, we think of practicing some kind of self care. Doing something regularly that is good for your body, mind, and soul.

The Self Love Daily Challenge #016: Create healthy rituals.

Start creating healthy rituals for yourself. Don’t be intimidated by keeping up with them perfectly, because it’s not about that, but rather about doing them regularly so you can with time reap the benefits and feel good! and that’s exactly what we want to feel – good about ourselves! Healthy minds equal healthy bodies. Do it because you actually want to do it, not because you feel like you have to. And don’t beat yourself up if you skip a few days or if you don’t feel like it. It’s ok! Just keep going.

So what kinds of healthy rituals can we create? Well how about eating healthy? Or starting up yoga or meditation? Or taking up a daily practice of walking around the block? Or keeping a journal of your thoughts? Or giving yourself a pedicure during the week? There are a number of healthy rituals you can create for yourself.

I try to make it a ritual to take care of myself weekly by giving myself nightly mini-facials. For awhile, I didn’t care much about taking care of my face. I had bad acne and an even worse habit of picking my scars. But when I began to love and value myself more, I wanted to take care of my face too. I wanted to show myself that I cared about looking good and that I deserved to feel beautiful. So I began a nightly skin care routine and it truly does make a difference in your looks as well as self esteem. I look forward to it each night and I do it because I truly want to, not because I feel like I have to. I’m even starting to see benefits of my skin clearing and that encourages me so much more to keep the routine going.

So find something, my friends, that you truly want to do for yourself that shows a bit of self love but also is a healthy ritual that you can keep up with. You may not see benefits right away, but in time it will definitely be worth it and you will be showing yourself some love by taking the time to practice the ritual.

Feel free to share some rituals that you do that may encourage others to try out for themselves!

xx

Christina Ciro

2015/01/img_1922.jpg

