You Are What You Eat!

2015/01/img_2069.jpg

So my best friend and I have been on this healthy food/workout/healthy body craze lately. Well I guess it’s not a craze because we’ve been encouraging each other to become stronger mentally, emotionally, and physically for a few months now. But lately, we have been also encouraging each other to eat healthier too. I’ve always been a pretty healthy eater. Ok maybe not THAT healthy, but I wasn’t one to overindulge in constant fast food or high sodium/high fat items. But, my vice has been and always will be sweets, especially chocolate. I am a die hard lover of chocolate. Cakes, cookies, candy bars, pudding, ice cream. Whatever form of chocolate you can think of, I will totally dive in to it. And I know I can be known to over consume on a regular basis (what woman doesn’t, am I right?). But with my new healthy eating habit, I am trying to cut back on the sweets, and all around anything processed and just not good for my insides.

I’m not doing it because I want to lose weight, in fact, I’m pretty thin as it is (105lbs, 5’3 small frame build). I’m doing it because I believe in the idea of whatever you feed your body on the inside, is also how you will feel on the outside too. So if I load myself with junk food, then I’m going to be feeling pretty weighed down and crappy. And I’m kind of tired of that feeling. I know especially after I’ve eaten some kind of processed fast food, I always immediately regret it because of that nasty, heaviness in my body that I normally get. So time to cut it all out for good. Plus it’s good to eat whole food anyway, in the long run you will get more nutrients out of whole foods than processed foods.

So this morning I decided to take a trip to my local Sprouts health food store and pick out a few healthy items to encourage me to keep up with this newly formed habit. I wanted to share a few snack/breakfast/lunch ideas that you can try out for yourself to encourage you to start eating healthy as well.

The Self Love Daily Challenge #023: Eat healthy for a strong body and mind!

1. Bananas and Peanut Butter Co. “Dark Chocolate Dreams” Peanut butter spread.

This is seriously my new all time favorite replacement dessert. Dark chocolate dreams peanut butter is amazingly good. It tastes just like a Reese’s peanut butter cup, if not better. I could even go as far as saying that I like it better than Nutella (yes, I know!). But the combination with bananas is fantastic and super healthy for you. I like how the Peanut butter company’s peanut butter is low in sugar, salt, and fat. They use whole ingredients that you can actually understand when you read the label. It’s non-GMO too, which is a plus. And bananas are so healthy for you –filled with tons of vitamins and minerals like vitamin C, magnesium and potassium. They are high in fiber and help regulate your digestive system as well. Try cutting up your banana into tiny bite size pieces and spreading the peanut butter on top. It’s like heaven!

2. Dark Chocolate Almond Milk

This is another one of my new favorites. I drink it straight most often, but you can even mix it in with granola if you get the plain kind (not sure how chocolate would go with cereal). You can mix it in with smoothies or protein shakes. It’s high in calcium, magnesium, B vitamins, and has about 8g of protein as well! It’s low in fat and calories and even tastes really great!

3. Alvarado Bakery Sprouted California Style Bread and Smashed Avocado sprinkled with Himalayan salt and cracked black pepper.

This is a perfect whole grain snack or breakfast option. It’s packed with protein, iron, omega 3’s, potassium, B vitamins, and fiber. It’s an all around nutritious and great tasting recipe. I love toasting my bread a little to give it more of a crunch and after spreading some mashed avocado on top, sprinkling it with salt and pepper, and then simply diving in.

4. Nature’s Path Chia Plus Coconut Granola and Plain/Vanilla Greek Yogurt.

I love Nature’s Path granola mixes. They have tons of great flavors, but the chia coconut is definitely my favorite. It mixes well with vanilla or plain Greek yogurt. I even have tried it with Coconut Greek yogurt and that even tasted pretty fantastic. This is another perfect combination because it is high in protein, iron, fiber and potassium. I love eating this first thing in the morning to get my day going and energy levels up. It’s also a great pre-workout snack because the protein and carbs will fill you up enough to keep your energy stable while you work out.

Well, there you have it! A few of my favorite healthy snack ideas. I’ve been eating well for a few weeks now and I can definitely tell the difference between my energy levels now and before. I also don’t have that heavy feeling in my body anymore. I encourage you also to add in fruits and veggies into your diet. I read somewhere that you’re supposed to eat your fruits and juice your veggies, so I’ve been sticking to that routine by packing fruit for a snack and juicing up some carrot or green juice to sip on during the day.

You definitely are what you eat. If you eat right, your body will function a lot smoother. It’s like putting bad gas into a car, it’s not going to run at it’s greatest potential unless it gets top quality fuel. So it’s the same with our bodies and even our minds too. That’s why it’s important to constantly feed our bodies with good food and our minds with good thoughts, and we will be on our way to living a healthier, happier lifestyle.

xx

Christina Ciro

