Two for One Special!

10959551_1591360297762665_5661112025553299860_n

First of all, sorry for the lack of post yesterday. Again, it’s one of those times in my life where there is A LOT going on, to the point where I probably don’t have time to blog, but I do so anyway because It’s part of this challenge and I have to stick with it! I know sometimes we don’t really want to do things, but we know they are good for us, so we do them anyway. And that’s kind of the theme of this post for today. And you’re so lucky because today, you get a two for one special. Two Self Love Daily Challenges for the price of reading one blog post! So.. let’s move forward.

The Self Love Daily Challenge #032: Even if it’s challenging, do it anyway!

The Self Love Daily Challenge #033: Change is scary, but ultimately good.

So both of these challenges kind of have to do with each other and kind of have to do with what i’m going through right now. Part of me really doesn’t want to get into exactly what I’m going through, because it’s beyond personal, and I don’t really want the world to know everything at the moment (maybe later…but definitely not now) but I can talk about what I’m learning form this “situation.”

So let’s start with change. Change is definitely scary. And I know some people find it exciting because it may be something actually exciting that is happening to us, but in the end, we all have a bit of fear creeping up on us when it comes to change. Why is it so frightening? Well, because it’s something different. It’s out of your comfort zone. It’s a new routine. it’s a new experience. It’s basically something new that you are really not familiar with, and the unknown is always a potentially frightening thing just because we don’t know what to expect. It could go bad. It could go really good. We don’t know. But we risk it anyway because we want the end result, which is usually something that makes us happier or our lives better. So we make that sacrifice and we change or the things around us change.

And sometimes change isn’t something we choose. I think those are always the scariest kinds because they are unexpected, and they are usually something really didn’t want or weren’t yet ready for. But even those kinds of changes can be used ultimately for good. I am becoming a firm believer that everything we go through in life, even the very bad, can be used ultimately for some kind of good whether it is good that effects us directly at some point in our lives, or good that effects someone else and their life. Either way it is some kind of good for mankind. I know a lot of people are puzzled by that because of the many terrible things that do happen on a daily basis, but if we dig deep, there is some greater purpose in them. But that’s another topic for another day.

So i’m going through a change right now and this change is definitely something very challenging, but i’m allowing it to flow because I know ultimately it is for good. I know that maybe I will have to get used to a whole new routine, or maybe I will have to make different kinds of sacrifices, but in the end there will be some kind of betterment in my life, whether it is something I wanted in the first place, or something I expected to be bad, but ended up good for me anyway.

So what can we do to accept and work with it, instead of against it? Well. This is what i’m learning so far.

1. Change is scary, but we have to do it anyway. 

Resistance never works, my friends. When we finally learn to accept what is happening, and actually go with, that is when real change starts to happen. The doors finally open up, the light bulb finally comes on. Movement starts to happen!

2. It might be challenging and require hard work, but it’s worth it in the end.

Yes, it’s going to be difficult! There are going to be days when you begin to feel resentment and bitterness, like “WHY AM I DOING THIS? WHY AM I ALLOWING THIS? WHY AM I ACCEPTING THIS?” But it will all be worth it. Half the reward is the journey. Allow yourself to learn and discover through this journey. Be patient and loving and kind towards yourself through this journey. I think that it is only through our challenges and trials, that we really build true character and discover who we really are. So why miss out on that experience? Keep going. Do it anyway!

So far I’ve only got two points, but they are pretty important points. And I feel like if you can follow those points, then  you can get through whatever change you  are going through. For me personally, I have to remember that this is scary, but I have to do it anyway, and that it’s going to be hard, but it’s going to be worth it. It’s all a risk but the only way to experience anything great or do anything great in life, is to take risks. Because if we don’t risk anything, then we risk nothing. And risking nothing gets us absolutely nowhere.

xx

Christina Ciro

