Vulnerability. 



Vulnerability.

 

“Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.” – Brene Brown

 

Throughout my journey, I’ve come to learn the importance of vulnerability, especially when it comes to creating true connections with people, and being authentic human beings within ourselves. Often, we are afraid of showing our true nature to others out of fear of judgment or ultimate rejection. We would rather hide behind a perfectly portrayed image of ourselves that we have carefully created, rather than risk being seen for who we truly are deep down inside. Is rejection really that bad? Well, yes. It is. It’s a terrifying experience when you are laying yourself out in the open that way. It gives others access to trampling all over our hearts and egos. It can even break us completely if we are not careful. But then what is the upside of being vulnerable if there are all of these other scary circumstances that come along with it?

 

Well, I believe that vulnerability is the only way to experiencing true connection, creativity, and growth whether it is within ourselves or with another person. There is no other way to experience a deep level of connection without exposing yourself on some level. 

 

So what happens when we are vulnerable with other people? We basically see each other for who we truly are. It allows us to love the person more deeply. To understand them more deeply. To connect with them more deeply. Otherwise, when we are only communicating on the surface, we will find that our connection is also very surface level and almost superficial in some circumstances. What is the point of being superficial? I think that most human beings would agree that in life all we truly ever want is to be loved and understood by others. 

 

It is scary though baring your soul out to another person. Maybe it’s not even being completely exposed, but rather simply allowing others in when you have been keeping them out for so long. Or allowing someone in on something that is bothering you in particular. 

 

I know that when I was going through my tough period of recovery, it was so difficult for me to let others in to what I was experiencing. I felt so weak as a person and almost like a failure at life and I didn’t want people to see that part of me. I wanted to appear strong and pulled together always. But when I began to accept my situation and allow people to see my vulnerability, I noticed that people really aren’t as terrifying or mean as you predict them to be. Most of the time they are pretty compassionate and understanding. They want to care for you or help you. They want to connect with you.

 

The Self Love Daily Challenge #052: Be vulnerable. 

 

Try it out. See for yourself how it might feel to reveal yourself a little more to others. To be vulnerable and open and exposed. It might be a bit frightening at first, but I think once you do it, you will feel such a deeper connection and understanding with other people. And you don’t have to do it all at once. You can just start with being more real or more yourself around others.

 

You just never know when you will spark some creativity or connection or growth by taking that risk to be vulnerable.

 

xx

 

Christina Ciro

 

