Taking a Break for a little while.. 

 
Hi friends ,

Please note : I know I haven’t written much on here for a while but I did want to post this on here as I have done so on my various other forms of social media. So hopefully after my break, I will feel more inspired to create and write so I can resume with this blog as well as live a more fulfilling lifestyle. Thank you!
I listened to two TED talks today (see links below). One about a man going off the internet completely for one year and how much more present he became in his interactions after spending less of his time being consumed by the internet. And the other about a man who thought originally that success meant having a lot of stuff, and when he found out he was still unhappy after obtaining so many possessions, he got rid of everything he didn’t need and lived a more authentic and minimalistic lifestyle that focused on things that really mattered.

Both talks had the same idea – clearing out the clutter in our lives that keep us from following our true passions and purpose and leading lives that focus more on things that matter, like our health, relationships, personal growth, contributions and community.  

After listening to these men talk about their life changing experiences, I’ve realized how the more we connect and immerse ourselves online or become obsessed with our personal image, the more disconnected and disengaged we become from our real lives and the more unhappy we end up being. Lately, I’ve been struggling with feelings of lack of inspiration, disconnection, and some major insecurity about my life. (yes I’m being vulnerable here so bear with me) And while there can be so many contributing factors like normal every day stress and pressure, hormonal imbalances, and miscellaneous drama, I feel that a majority of this feeling of dissatisfaction within my life and lack of motivation is coming from what I feed my mind on a daily basis.

I’ve noticed that the more stressed I feel about not feeling good, the more I try to lose myself into finding seeking what I feel I’m lacking online. I tend to do this through comparing where I am with where everybody else is, comparing how I look with how everybody else looks, and then somehow driving myself mad with trying to compete with them, even on a subconscious level. I kept questioning myself, “why do I feel so uninspired and unhappy all the time?” “Why do I feel like I am never enough?” “Why do I feel like I’m not getting to where I should be?”

And then I wondered… is it because I’m not really living authentically? Because I am literally living for an image that I want to project rather than living for a real purpose. Have I literally been rushing through life trying to get from one milestone to the next just to show that I am significant? Am I not living presently? Am I not appreciating presently? Am I just constantly waiting for the destination to arrive rather than enjoying the in-between seasons of growth and change? Why do we do this? Why do we think that by documenting and presenting every single thing in our lives we somehow become more important or that life has more meaning because it has been shared online? I don’t think it really does.

It’s good to be connected online and it’s good to stay relevant with the times and to keep connection with family and friends, but at the same time I think we need to disconnect too. We need to find balance. We need to remember that we live in a real world and not just a virtual one. That it’s more important to live fully and experience things in the moment than to constantly be worried about what else you might be missing out on. 

I’m doing an experiment… Not that any of you probably even care because I don’t know if anyone even reads what I post sometimes (I know this is quite long so if you’ve read this far – thank you), but I’ve decided to go off all social media for one month.

I’m not doing it for any kind of attention or to make a point because I’m angry or anything or even because I am upset or angry at anyone, it’s simply because I want to take notice. I want to see if my life does change for the better and increase in quality. If I will begin to enjoy things more fully or experience things in a deeper way. I want to know what it’s like not to fill my empty time with mindless scrolling on Instagram or Facebook and maybe instead fill it with more important, worthwhile activities like pursuing my passions. I want to be able to taste meals organically without the attachment of needing to capture them with a photo so that I could 22 likes. I want to experience bike rides and beach trips and morning hikes without having to make some post about what I did just to get another form of affirmation from the world that it was cool.

I want to see if it even helps me on my own personal journey of gaining more self-confidence – seeing whether it will help me stop comparing my life to everyone else or even just trying to get to know myself more without the pressures and distractions of what everyone else is doing. I want to see if my relationships with friends, family, and even my own boyfriend will grow closer, richer, and more genuine.

I mean really what’s the worst that could happen – I don’t make it through the 30 days and succumb back to the addiction of being on my phone? I read that it takes 30 days to create a new pattern in the brain. If I can somehow create a new pattern in my brain to create more balance in my life and to not be so affected by these negative influences that social media has had on me then I say it’s worth a try.

I’m going to try documenting this too… in a personal journal, of course but if I do find any significant changes or experiences then maybe I will consider publishing it as a means of helping others find balance in their lives too.

So that’s it. Thanks for reading. Farewell for now.

 If you need to reach me for whatever reason, email me.

 I’ll leave this here: christinaciro@gmail.com

 And for reference the TED talks I watched:

Much love and well wishes.

xx

Christina
 

 

